#17: Thank you, thank you.

***This is the seventeenth of a series of posts based on a book I’m reading for a class called Connections in Religious and Ecological Education entitled Holy Ground: A Gathering of Voices on Caring for Creation. The chapter is “This Good Earth,” by Brian McLaren.

yellow-magnolia2

I live in Columbus, Ohio.  I confess, my city does not boast the most stunning of natural vistas.  It doesn’t even really qualify as a very interesting city, as urban areas go.  But there are spaces and moments in this town that are worthy of thanksgiving.  Parks and streets and homes and skylines, all hunkered quietly down waiting for someone to notice the way the sunlight hits a corner or rain falls from a branch.  I was walking through Goodale Park last week and found my breath stolen by some magnolia trees in bloom, their fat, fleshy, up-pointed buds stretching out into the air.  I’ve seen magnolias whose main personality was pink, and those mostly white.  But in the center of this park, on this day, I noticed for the first time butter-yellow.  The flowers looked like buttered popcorn kernels, popped and waiting to be plucked up.  They were surprising and stunning, a special hope for spring in the cold wind.  And with Brian McLaren, I found myself singing again, a song of thanks to God who thought to make sun-bright magnolia blossoms to celebrate the coming of Easter and the first week of April, who makes surprises come out of even urban landscapes and old broken neighborhoods, who says, “Hold on, look around, and see what I’ve made today.”  Thank you, thank you.

Leave a Reply

