#23: Disciplines of obedience.

***This is the twenty-third of a series of posts based on a book I’m reading for a class called Connections in Religious and Ecological Education entitled Holy Ground: A Gathering of Voices on Caring for Creation. The chapter is “The Shalom Principle,” by Peter Sawtell, founder of Eco-Justice Ministries.

Blogging has become a discipline of obedience.  I blog not only because it feels good, because I find it easiest to untangle the knottiest of my tangled thoughts in the written word, shared with my friends and with strangers, but because there are so few things in my life to which I can regularly commit myself.  Most projects are temporary, my effort necessary only in fits and starts.  A beginning and an end, not enough time necessary to reach that point where I simply hate the activity, that point through which, if I pushed, I would find myself tipping over into rich accomplishment.  So I blog.  And, I’m blogging about ecology, using Holy Ground to frame my thoughts and reflections.  I’ve reached that point.  Gotta tell you.  I am reading about various perspectives on caring for our environment from positions of faith and conscience… and I’m sick of it.  So repetitive, a trial to come up with new ideas, new thoughts, sick of feeling guilty for not doing enough, for not living like a hermit in the woods, for having a carbon footprint.  But then I think of sustainability.  Sustenance.  Sustaining.  Keeping up with it, maintaining, balancing, bearing up, withstanding.  The problem isn’t, much like our current ecological crisis, a problem of the environment, it’s a human problem.  Our hearts need to change.  Mine does.  So little are we asked to maintain, to give up something to gain something less tangible but significantly more wonderful and valuable… that we give up too easily.  Our spirits flag, we get tired, we look for the remote, we distract ourselves from the real problem at hand.  Which is our lack of dedication to the larger picture.  The point isn’t to blog one more entry.  It’s to learn about myself and the earth and and God and my community in relationship to one another.  The point isn’t to have a smaller negative impact on the earth, it’s to turn, to repent, to rethink our thinking in such a way that our values become different at heart so that healing can begin.  Damn.  I hate when things come together.

1 Comment »

  1. nancydayachauer Said:

    Learning about ourselves can be a major hurtle because it forces us to see ourselves for who we really are, and that’s not always pretty. Acknowledging the false self and accepting ownership of the true self and how the two relate to one another is an important first step. It’s also necessary in order for us to relate to God and community with honesty and integrity. The false Nancy appears to really actively care for the environment, the true Nancy drops the ball more often than she wants to admit.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

